Skip to main content

Goodall Nominations

The Goodall Distinguished Alumna/us Award

Each year the school bestows the Goodall Distinguished Alumna/us Award upon an alumna or alumnus of CPS, Hillsdale, Lotspeich, or The Seven Hills School who has achieved distinction in a public or private career or service that betters the lives of others. The Goodall Award is the highest honor given by the school to our graduates. 

Pictured above from left are Aaron Haslam, Chrissey Barrett Haslam, Dora Barrett, Charles Barrett, Eileen Ward Barrett H’69, Annie Barrett, and John Barrett.  

2018 Goodall Distinguished Alumna:

Eileen Ward Barrett h’69

Classmates, family, and friends recently gathered to honor the 2018 recipient of the Goodall Award for Distinguished Alumni, Eileen Ward Barrett H’69. Eileen is an active philanthropist in Cincinnati, generously giving her time and expertise to a diverse array of organizations that better the lives of those in the community. She serves as the director of the Board of the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens, president of the Board of La Soupe, and trustee for the Central Clinic Foundation Board, as well as Children’s Protective Services – Families Forward. She has previously been involved as a trustee for the Children’s Home of Cincinnati, Cincinnati Country Day School, Springer School, United Way Campaign, and as president of Town & Country Garden Club. A breast cancer survivor herself, Eileen helped to spearhead fundraising efforts for the Barrett Cancer Center, including as co-chair of Ride Cincinnati. Eileen gives her time and expertise in support of the arts, horticulture and gardening, children’s welfare, cancer research and prevention, and education.  The breadth of Eileen’s volunteerism finds its focus in a common thread: bettering the lives of her fellow citizens of Cincinnati. 

See a list of past Goodall Distinguished Alumna

The award was established at Graduation 1977 on the occasion of Norma Martin Goodall’s retirement, after years of loyal and distinguished service. The first award was given in 1978.