Skip to main content

Seven Hills Congratulates 10 National Merit Finalists

(l to r) Ben King, Andrew Wilson, Alayna Choo, Joanne Li, Mitchell Polonsky, Nicole Barresi, Carl Compton, Pearce Kieser, Adam Buford. (not pictured: Grace Cawdrey)

The Seven Hills School continues its tradition of excellence with the announcement of 10 Seven Hills seniors who were named finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The Seven Hills School congratulates the following National Merit Finalists: Nicole Barresi, Adam Buford, Grace Cawdrey, Alayna Choo, Carl Compton, Pearce Kieser, Ben King, Joanne Li, Mitchell Polonsky, and Andrew Wilson.

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors talented U.S. high school students each year for academic excellence. To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must have submitted a detailed scholarship application, providing information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstration of leadership abilities, and honors and awards previously received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout Upper School, be endorsed and recommended by an Upper School official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2015 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 308,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title. Approximately 1.5 million students from 22,000 high schools across the country enter the Program each year. Ultimately, less than one percent of the nation’s high school graduating seniors are honored as finalists.