Skip to main content

Upper Schoolers given end of year awards

Upper School students were honored at the annual Awards Ceremony on June 2. Held in The Schiff Center, students of all grade levels were celebrated by their peers and the Upper School faculty. The ceremony began with the announcement of the following students, who earned a Concentration in Seven Hills’ Experiential Learning program for studying a subject in-depth in the following fields:

Jenny Hu – Global Citizenship
Lucy Schneider – Holocaust Studies
Sebastian Rodriguez – Engineering & Design
Jenna Villar – Interior Design

Junior Annelise Hawgood was presented the Miriam Titcomb Award, the highest honor awarded to a junior, for exhibiting excellence in “initiative in some area, originality in some area, love of fellow man, and courage of convictions.”

Senior Gabrielle Christmon was presented with the Clement L. Buenger Award on behalf of the Fund for Independent Schools of Cincinnati.

Junior Anna Papakirk received the Neil Smith Scholarship, which is presented to a student in grade nine, 10, or 11 who best exemplifies the qualities for which Neil Smith is known. The selected student must “meet the world with optimism and good will; expect the best from themselves and others; and exhibit courage, compassion, integrity, and intelligence.”

The Personal Achievement Award was presented to the students whose contributions have made Seven Hills a better place. Honorees were freshmen Roman Russo and Landen Langhammer, sophomores Isaiah Richardson and Phoebe Rubenstein, juniors Shahnaz Hassan and Ryan Meador, and senior Drake Stewart.

Alice Bachelder and Isabelle Anthony received the Sophomore Scholastic Achievement Award. This is awarded to sophomores who exhibit a scholarly temperament and who have contributed the benefits of learning in a given discipline to the school and/or the wider community. These students exhibit a love of learning and intellectual curiosity and share enthusiasm for the discipline with others.

Junior Rohan Nambiar received the Citizenship Award. This is awarded to the student who takes an active role in school and/or community affairs, and who exhibits mature political and global consciousness and a sense of civic responsibility.

Junior Shanaya Bharucha was given the Creativity and Original Thinking Award. This award is given to a student who is committed to independent thinking, and who has displayed an inquisitive and creative habit of mind.

Junior Jack Ringel was awarded the Community Scholar Award, presented to the student “who has shown exceptional achievement in a given discipline and who has extended that knowledge to benefit the larger community.”

Josh Porter was presented the Carol Brestel Award. The recipient is selected by vote of the faculty “of a senior who combines enthusiasm and talent and who exhibits leadership in school life.”

Jenny Hu received the Florence Fessenden Award, which is given to a senior for outstanding achievement in a certain academic area.

Maya Martinez Diers and Suhani Gupta were presented the Alumni Association Service Award, which is given to seniors who have an outstanding record of service to home and community.

Department Awards

Josh RisingAndress Art Award

Liam Belluso, Gabrielle Christmon, Grayson Halonen, Cece Hood, Aahana Katneni, Elsa Lick, Jake Messer, Anand Patil, Aditi Sinha, Paris Weems, Lena Wilson, Wendy Woffington—Theater Award

Lucas Wall—Fine and Performing Arts Award

Riley Jones—English Award

Andrew Zhou, Sophia Schuermeyer, Ahalya Nambiar—Kathy Richardson Award

Justin Gao—History Award

Manan Vij—Math Award

Ellie Cain, Logan Bien—Biology Award

Emily Rosenfeld—Chemistry Award

Sebastian Rodriguez—Physics Award

Jerry Hou—Computer Science Award

Sarah Croog—Latin Award

Logan Bien—Chinese Award

Julia Moser, Martina Miquelarena—French Award

Gabriella Khaskelis, Daniella Amadeo-Muniz—Spanish Award

Mackenzie Hartman, Ella Jo Piersma, Alexis Veldhuis—Female Athletes of the Year

Jacob Joffe —Male Athlete of the Year

Ella Jo Piersma—Female Scholar Athlete

Sebastian Rodriguez—Male Scholar Athlete

Caitlin Drew—Female Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award

Collin Chen—Male Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award

Will Kersting—Elinor Scherr Mosher Award

2022 Senate Award— Marielle Newton

2022 Senate Award Honorable Mention — Barbara Hepp