Skip to main content

Upper School Elects New Student Government Leaders

This year’s Upper School  student election had an impressive group of candidates. Eighteen students ran for president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer positions. After 228 Upper School students cast their votes, the results rolled in. Upper School student government leaders for the 2021-22 school year are president Anand Patil, vice president Thomas Murphy, secretary Logan Bien, and treasurer Manan Vij. “I think we have a really, really competent group of people (participating in Student Government) that I’m excited to work with,” Patil said. “It’s going to be a great year and everyone’s super motivated and ready to tackle some of the toughest problems.” Patil said the election was competitive, with a lot of qualified candidates in the field. He believes so many students voted this year because voting was done via email, making it more accessible and convenient. During his campaign, Patil worked to make connections with not only his class, but freshman and sophomores, whom he called the future of the Upper School. The focus of his campaign was impacting the everyday lives of students at Seven Hills, which includes focusing on everything from school spirit, events, and emotional health, to updating the senior lounge and fixing the chargers in the library. “At the end of the day, we’re really focused on making next school year as amazing as it can possibly be and transforming how people even think about student government, making it more everyday student-life focused,” Patil said. If protocols allow next year, Patil shared that student government plans to work on bringing back school events not held during the 2020-21 school year due to COVID-19. “There were a lot of events that were lost this year,” Patil said. “Some of them were lost due to COVID, some of them we didn’t think we could plan with this atmosphere. I think it’s our responsibility to bring those back, new and improved.”