Skip to main content

Seven Hills Announces 2017 National Merit Semifinalists

The Seven Hills School continues its tradition of excellence with 14 Seven Hills seniors-17 percent of the 2017 senior class-qualifying as Semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. National Merit Scholarship Corporation released the names of the Semifinalists on the morning of Sept. 14, 2016. The Seven Hills School congratulates the following National Merit Semifinalists: Calvin Arbenz, Samantha Chun, Shane DiGiovanna, Samantha Eng, Nina Fatuzzo, Charles Gardner, Daniel Grass, Jason Guo, Katharine Kilcoyne, Jackson Lane, Kaitlyn Loeffler, Emily McLennan, Matisse Peppet, and Samuel Stevens. Seven Hills 2016 graduate Matisse Peppet,who graduated after her junior year, is also being recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program as one of the 2017 Semifinalists. 

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an annual academic competition that honors talented U.S. high school students. Historically, more than 90 percent of Seven Hills students who earn National Merit Semifinalist recognition also qualify as Finalists. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Semifinalists are the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and represent the top one percent of the state’s senior students. Students qualify for recognition in the National Merit programs with their scores on the PSAT/NMSQT.