Skip to main content

Lotspeich Year-End Awards

Lotspeich continued its century old tradition with its 103rd awards ceremony on June 1. Lead by retiring Head of School Carolyn Fox and Lostspeich fifth-grade teachers Tracy Hickenlooper and Jennifer Steller, faculty and staff selected fifth-grade students to receive awards based on academic achievement, a love for learning, citizenship, character, and leadership. The following awards were presented during the closing ceremony.

The Joy in Learning Award was presented to Izzy Schatzel. The award is given to the students “who exemplifies the Lotspeich philosophy of finding joy in the pursuit of learning, sharing that learning in a selfless, helpful manner with others, and enjoying the quest of learning in all its facets.”

The Theodore C. Wuerfel Merit Award was presented to Rushil Jain. The award was created “to recognize a Lotspeich student who has demonstrated academic achievement, breadth and scope of interests beyond the classroom, leadership, citizenship, and character.”

The Elisabeth Greenwald Mapes Award was presented to Zahabia Shahpurwala for exemplifying “the Seven Values of Seven Hills. This student is a well-rounded individual who is eager to learn, helps others, and promotes the best values of Seven Hills.”

The Eileen Driscoll Literary Award was presented to Clara Jackson-Peattie for “demonstrating a love of literature and joy in the printed word.”