Skip to main content

Seven Hills Inducts Members of Cum Laude Society 2015

back row: (from l to r) Nicole Barresi, Holly O’Neal, Adam Buford, Alex Jiang, Fatima Anwar, Kate Coley, Matthew Marquardt, Nicole Malofsky, Chris Shoemaker – Front row: Kathy Wang, Nicole Tiao, Maria Bobbitt-Chertock, Ellen Lu (not pictured -Claudia Fernandez-Gonzalez)

In its 41st year of recognition, The Seven Hills School congratulates its newest inductees of Cum Laude, a prestigious national honor society that recognizes academic excellence.

Our 14 new members are juniors Fatima Anwar, Maria Bobbitt Chertock, Kate Coley, Alex Jiang, Matthew Marquardt, Holly O’Neal, Nicole Tiao, Kathy Wang; and seniors Nicole Barresi, Adam Buford, Claudia Fernández Gonzalez, Ellen Lu, Nicole Malofsky, andChris Shoemaker.

The event also honored the members who were inducted last year as juniors: Stefan Antonsson, Grace Cawdrey, Alayna Choo, Jeff Dedeker, Pearce Kieser, Ben King, and Ellie Pasquale. Guest speaker at the dinner was Seven Hills alumna Elida Kamine ’99, who encouraged students to always maintain the joy of learning they developed at Seven Hills.

Head of School Chris Garten said, “Modeled after Phi Beta Kappa at the college level, the Cum Laude Society recognizes academic excellence in some of this country’s most prestigious high schools. Membership is strictly limited to schools with exemplary academic programs, and Seven Hills is one of just a handful in Ohio. Of the 38,000 high schools in the United States, only about 378 have Cum Laude chapters. Induction means that these students are being recognized as among the best of the best in secondary education in the nation.”