Skip to main content

Congratulations to New Members of Cum Laude Society

The Upper School honored its 16 new inductees into the Seven Hills chapter of the Cum Laude Society, a national honor society that recognizes academic excellence, at the Cum Laude Dinner on April 12. New members are juniors: Madeleine Jay, Gregory Kalin, Felix Karthik, Aryan Katneni, Christopher Nathan, Varshini Odayar, Annabel Stanley, and Grant Veldhuis; and seniors: Matthew Cook, Tindar Cyr, Carly Jones, Louann Kovach, Jessica Nordlund, Nathaniel Rising, Caitlin Shaw, and Avni Varshneya. The event also honored the members who were inducted last year as juniors: Michael Barresi, Lucy Callard, Natalie Choo, Alexander Kreines, Nicholas Purple, Mary Grace Ramsay, Curtis Sun, and Yuou Wang. The event’s guest speaker was Seven Hills alumni Dr. Meera Kotagal ’99, a pediatric surgery fellow at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Seven Hills is one of fewer than 400 high schools in the country—with 21 in Ohio—who have been granted a Cum Laude Society chapter, an academic honor society, modeled on Phi Beta Kappa. Seven Hills Head of School Chris Garten congratulated the students during the ceremony and said, “Each year we recognize students whose academic performance and habits of mind meet the highest possible standards for scholarship and good character.” As part of the annual Cum Laude Society induction ceremony, it is tradition for faculty members of the Cum Laude Committee to address each new member with remarks compiled from quotes from the students’ teachers. For a direct link to the remarks, click here