Skip to main content

Commencement Awards

Congratulations to all Seven Hills Upper School award recipients. The following departmental awards were presented at Awards Day in early June.

The following students earned a Concentration for studying a subject in-depth in the following fields:

Jamie Holcomb – Journalism

Felix Karthik – Medical Exploration

Amisha Mittal – Community Engagement

Varshini Odayar – Community Engagement

Drew Vecellio – Musical Theater

Rosalind Roland was presented the Miriam Titcomb Award, the highest honor awarded to a junior, for exhibiting excellence in “initiative in some area, originality in some area, love of fellow man, and courage of convictions.”

DJ Ross was presented the Clement L. Buenger Award on behalf of the Fund for Independent Schools of Cincinnati (FISC).

Kayzad Bharucha received the Neil Smith Scholarship, which is presented to a student in grade nine, 10, or 11 who best exemplifies the qualities for which Neil Smith is known. He/she must “meet the world with optimism and good will; expect the best from themselves and others; and exhibit courage, compassion, integrity, and intelligence.”

The Personal Achievement Award was presented to the students whose contributions have made Seven Hills a better place. Honorees were freshman Elena Wilson, sophomore David Kiley, junior Curtis Harrison, and senior Michael Nordlund.

Andrew Yang received the Sophomore Scholastic Achievement Award. This is awarded to the sophomore who exhibits a scholarly temperament and who has contributed the benefits of learning in a given discipline to the school and/or the wider community. This student exhibits a love of learning and intellectual curiosity and shares enthusiasm for the discipline with others.

Annika Alper received the Citizenship Award. This is awarded to the student who takes an active role in school and/or community affairs, and who exhibits mature political and global consciousness and a sense of civic responsibility.

May Chen was given the Creativity and Original Thinking Award. This is awarded to the student who is given to independent thinking, and who has displayed an inquisitive and creative habit of mind.

Ethan Rising was awarded the Community Scholar Award, presented to the student “who has shown exceptional achievement in a given discipline and who has extended that knowledge to benefit the larger community.”

Department Awards

Jesse Sprigg—Andress Art Award

Avery Dorsch—Fine and Performing Arts Award

David Labrie—English Award

Jenny Hu—Kathy Richardson Award

Madison Peltier—History Award

Max Yuan—Math Award

Ella Samaha—Biology Award

Kevin Wang—Chemistry Award

Eddie Hatfield—Physics Award

Nick Norton—Chinese Award

 Rachel Michelman—French Award

Greg Kalin—Latin Award

Katie Remaklus—Spanish Award

Emma Shuppert—Female Athlete of the Year

Brennan Callow—Male Athlete of the Year

Maya Patel—Female Scholar Athlete

Max Yuan—Male Scholar Athlete

Dottie Callard—Female Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award

Stratton Papakirk—Male Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award –

Griffin Callow—Elinor Scherr Mosher Award

Mark Beyreis, English teacher and Lenore Horner, math and science teacher—Senate Award –