Skip to main content

Commencement Awards

Congratulations to all Seven Hills Upper School award recipients. The following departmental accolades were presented during Seven Hills’ awards ceremony in early June. The ceremony began with the announcement of the following students, who earned a Concentration in Seven Hills’ Experiential Learning program for studying a subject in-depth in the following fields:

Alex Grass – Political Engagement

Yash Gaitonde – Technology and Innovation

Annika Halonen – Performing Arts

Maddy Kennebeck – Creative Writing

Ethan Rising – Environmental Awareness

Geereesh Shankar – Medical Exploration

Caroline Routh was presented the Miriam Titcomb Award, the highest honor awarded to a junior, for exhibiting excellence in “initiative in some area, originality in some area, love of fellow man, and courage of convictions.”

Courtney Hammonds was presented the Clement L. Buenger Award on behalf of the Fund for Independent Schools of Cincinnati (FISC).

Uma Shenai received the Neil Smith Scholarship, which is presented to a student in grade nine, 10, or 11 who best exemplifies the qualities for which Neil Smith is known. The selected student must “meet the world with optimism and good will; expect the best from themselves and others; and exhibit courage, compassion, integrity, and intelligence.”

The Personal Achievement Award was presented to the students whose contributions have made Seven Hills a better place. Honorees were freshman Logan Bien, sophomore Caitlin Drew, junior Christina Torlone, and senior Stephen Walsh.

Jenny Hu received the Sophomore Scholastic Achievement Award. This is awarded to the sophomore who exhibits a scholarly temperament and who has contributed the benefits of learning in a given discipline to the school and/or the wider community. This student exhibits a love of learning and intellectual curiosity and shares enthusiasm for the discipline with others.

David Kiley received the Citizenship Award. This is awarded to the student who takes an active role in school and/or community affairs, and who exhibits mature political and global consciousness and a sense of civic responsibility.

Kurt Drath was given the Creativity and Original Thinking Award. This is awarded to the student who is given to independent thinking, and who has displayed an inquisitive and creative habit of mind.

Charlie Ringel was awarded the Community Scholar Award, presented to the student “who has shown exceptional achievement in a given discipline and who has extended that knowledge to benefit the larger community.”

Department Awards

Alison SpeicherAndress Art Award

Hannah Kelly—Group Theater Award

Maddy Kennebeck 

Cas Kominar

Hannah Levin

Madeleine Magruder

Rosalind Roland

Hannah Levin—Music Award

Taylor Hauter—Fine and Performing Arts Award

Katie RemaklusEnglish Award

Lauryn Alexander and Ashley McLennan—Kathy Richardson Award

Michael SteinHistory Award

Hannah Wang—Math Award

Megan TanBiology Award

Andrew YangChemistry Award

Nina Martinez DiersPhysics Award

Kevin Wang—Latin Award

Erika AuChinese Award

Caroline CorbettFrench Award

Holly Weisfelder—Spanish Award

Katie Remaklus Female Athlete of the Year

Curtis HarrisonMale Athlete of the Year

Caroline CorbettFemale Scholar Athlete

Kevin WangMale Scholar Athlete

Annie LeeperFemale Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award

Spencer BainMale Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award

Caitlin Drew—Elinor Scherr Mosher Award

2020 Senate Award—French teacher Wynne Curry